I have spent 7+ hrs Gaming a day for almost a year. These are the things I’ve learned

Tanosei
5 min readJan 31, 2020

--

What if you have the ambition to do something great within 3 months, 6 months or 8 months but you are stuck on the addiction of gaming. It’s indeed the worst thing for your present and the future. Too much of anything is just too much. It’s true that some studies have shown certain video games can improve hand-eye coordination, problem-solving skills, and the mind’s ability to process information. But too much video game playing cause problems for your passion.

But if you are into E-sports career, I won’t stop you. Go and play for 10+ hours. But making a career and playing just for fun is a whole lot of different things.

What I have realized about playing games too much?

Source: TechSpot

I have spent my whole childhood completing GTA Vice City, GTA SanAndreas, SpiderMan, GTA IV, and FIFA 15 missions. Back then, neither I had scope for my future nor any good resources/internet. I was not mature enough to set goals. But I never wanted to be an E-sports player.

But the thing is, I started playing PUBG mobile last year. I had always an itch to start a career in creating wonderful software. Besides that, I am more interested in automation and Artificial Intelligence. But, I always believed you need a high-end machine to experiment with AI programs. I started my career with Android Programming so I could find a job nearby within my area. Even I tried to freelance things didn’t work well. Everything I started was for quick bucks to buy resources for my self-improvement. But things didn’t work well and I quickly burned out. Having no plans and goals. I began to spend my time on PUBG mobile with friends. Especially, Playing with friends was fun and I couldn’t go get rid of it easily. So I got addicted to it.

I was doing the same thing continuously for almost 7 months, eat, sleep and play games besides, working in a call-center in a morning shift. I had quit learning new things. Gaming got me engaged in it and equipped my everyday time. Almost after 8 months, even getting a good laptop to do software development. I didn’t stop playing games. I was playing games continuously, however slowly I realized these things — which helped me stopped gaming:

  • I realized that playing games for the late-night were straining my eyes, where I got so much difficulty to wake up in the morning. I used to sleep for 6 hours, but after playing games, the joy towards it would make me stay for longer hours and even though I realized it’s not good for me, I was after a motive to get a one nice chicken dinner in the game. That process would drag me up to 7–8 hrs of playing PUBG
  • The next thing I realized was, I was postponing my mini-projects to play games. I had a goal to write 1 article a week which I all got ruined. If someone would call me I would close all the things I was doing and quickly jump into gaming, which wasn’t good at all.
  • More and more I felt like I was living in a simulation. I was running away from my responsibility and my passion.

Why it’s bad for doers?

Video games are designed for relaxation. They give people a chance to escape from their busy, stressful and routine lives. Escaping from the stressful moments is alright, but this is not a scenario where you will just play 1–2 matches and go back to your responsibility.

Gaming is addictive, they are designed to be that way. Video game designers, like anyone else trying to make a profit, are always looking for ways to get more people playing their games. They accomplish this by making a game just challenging enough to keep you coming back for more but not so hard that the player eventually gives up. In other words, success for a gamer often feels just out of reach. In this respect, video game addiction is very similar to another more widely recognized disorder: gambling addiction.

The more and more you game you tend to be escaping from your responsibility and goals that you had set for yourselves.

I am really good at games, should I stop playing it?

It’s not hard to be good at games. Spend a couple of weeks on it, and you’ll really be amateur but the thing is it takes a time to be the master on it. So think wisely, you get only a limited time, where you want to spend that. Is it true that you are really passionate about video games and want to make a career on it? Or else, invest that time to be master on your passion

I feel alone and I play video games?

Even I too. I often get lonely, I rarely talk to my friends. Dragging yourself to complete one more mission on a video game will make you more addicted to it. So, possibly give yourself time. The beautiful thing is you are a friend of your own, having isolation increases your productivity instead of worrying that you have no one in your life, start creating something by talking with yourselves.

But should you quit gaming just because everyone wants you to quit?

No never, I ‘m not going to tell you to quit. If you are considering stopping gaming, do it because you want to, not because other people want you to. I do believe that you shouldn’t deprive yourself of your passions and joys, but when it begins to negatively impact the quality of your life that’s when it becomes a problem. Chasing away from reality and responsibility will never make you better than what you are today.

Thanks for Reading!

Don’t forget to give us your 👏 !

--

--